Patient Testimonials

Pediatric Testimonials

 

Professional Colleague Testimonails

 

Adult Testimonials

 


 
Stephen B. Baker, MD, DDS
5 5 Star Rating based on 18 reviews
800 Reservoir Rd NW Washington, DC 20007
703-663-4738

They set the standard for professional care

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 14, 2018

Dear Dr. Weston,

I am writing to you to give you glowing feedback on your staff, which I know Georgetown values.

As an attorney, businessman, and former military officer, I know the importance of good customer service. I also know that poor customer service is more common that good service, and that outstanding service is rare. Most businesses get by with decent service, and do little to instill a culture of excellence across the enterprise.

Three weeks ago yesterday, Dr. Stephen Baker performed plastic surgery on my nose after I had a Mohs procedure the day before. The surgery was performed at Georgetown Hospital on an outpatient basis.

Every aspect of my interactions with MedStar personnel, from the persons answering the phone, to Dr. Baker himself, has been nothing but extraordinary. Suffice to say, getting plastic surgery, on the heels of Mohs surgery, was rather stressful. But the professionalism and kindness exhibited by your colleagues was truly remarkable.

Allow me to provide a bit more detail, and special appreciation for key individuals.

Christina Barra is one of the most professional, kind, caring nurse practitioners I have ever encountered. She has a ready smile and light touch, but exudes confidence and skill. From the day I came to the McLean office for an initial consult, to the day I got my sutures out, to today for my 3-week follow up, she could not have been more pleasant. She is truly the finest nurse, and medical professional, I have ever met. I feel like I’ve known her for a long time.

The front desk staff in McLean are efficient, kind, courteous, and even remember names. They are a credit to your organization, as they tend to be the “face” of the organization for most people.

Dr. Baker is cool, calm, collected, and does not seem to take himself too seriously. Yet he comes across as exceptionally competent, prudent, and measured. He is clearly in charge, but in a non-egotistical manner. He has an easy laugh, and from what I have seen, the staff seem to respond to him. His follow up call after my surgery was most appreciated. He did not rush the call, answered all of my questions, and was truly interested in how I was feeling. I never got the impression that I was just another patient—which happens all too frequently with some doctors.

Dr Lee, the anesthesiologist, and her assistant, were truly comforting and professional when I met them in the pre-op area. Both explained what drug they would use, asked me appropriate questions before the operation, and just had wonderful “bed side” manner.

Finally, my primary nurse in pre-op was so professional and delightful. She took my vitals; entered my data into the mobile computer, and generally chit chatted with me while she was getting me ready for surgery. Her mannerisms and professionalism eased my stress level, and she could not have performed her duties better from my perspective.

In summary, Dr. Baker and his entire team, are truly the finest medical team I have ever experienced. If all medical teams worked together like this, with a human-centered approach, the rest of us who are not medical professionals would not dread going to the doctor. From the folks answering the phone, to the attention to detail with respect to paperwork, to the Duke Medical School student intern, to Mr. Washington (the young African-American at G-town hospital who walked me back to pre-op), to Christina Barra, to the captain—Dr. Baker—they set the standard for professional care.

I trust this feedback is helpful.

by

It looks very natural

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 22, 2018

“Dr. Baker, Thank you for improving my ability to breath and for fixing my nose. Now, when I look in the mirror, I see beyond my nose-I see my face. Immediately, my co-workers complemented me on the skills of my surgeon. Despite the swelling, everyone said it looks very natural and that you have done a good job. Thank you for your skills, understanding, and warm personality. I’m glad I chose you. Thanks!”

by

He was in the best human hands

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 2, 2018

“We sincerely appreciate you for taking great care of our son. After extensive research, we knew he was in the best human hands possible. We wish your family and you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.”

by

He was in good (great) hands!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 17, 2018

“Thank you for taking such good care of my son, Kristopher. It was reassuring to know what he was in good (great) hands!”

by

Excellent job on my eyes

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 1, 2018

“Dear Dr. Baker, Wanted to thank you for doing such an excellent job on my eyes. It was rough for a few weeks but worth it.”

by

You did a fabulous job, and we thank you from the bottom of our heart!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 14, 2018

“Dr. Baker, We are sincerely grateful for the beautiful surgery you performed on our daughter. I was afraid, but those fears were unfounded. You made us feel at ease. You were great with our daughter and her anxieties. You did a fabulous job, and we thank you from the bottom of our heart! She’s like a new person and it can only get better. Once again, our experience with you has been wonderful. Thanks again for everything!”

by

My experience has been nothing but wonderful

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 8, 2018

“I just felt the need to send this email and express my deepest gratitude to Dr. Baker for everything that you have done for me. From the initial evaluation to my last appointment last Wednesday- my experience has been nothing but wonderful. I think because I’m deaf – this was an added challenge considering the need for clear communication and consistent services – which is exactly what I got. The sensitivity, warmth and friendliness that I received from your office made my experience a much more positive one. The professionalism and quality of service was just amazing. I truly believe that this happened @ the time that it did – for a reason. I had the best hospital, best secretary, best interpreters, best facilities, and most of all, the best doctor Dr. Baker – that I could’ve possibly had. I’m proud to share my very positive experiences @ Georgetown Plastic Surgery’s dept with my family members, peers, coworkers, and friends. It’s important to me that I remind your office just how big of an impact you’ve had on me.”

by

My whole hearted thanks to Dr. Baker for the outstanding work

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 11, 2018

“Please pass on my whole hearted thanks to Dr. Baker for the outstanding work he has done on Ilene over the last 2 plus years. I thank God he was on call the night they brought Ilene into Fairfax Hospital. I know it was his skills and understanding that have given me back a beautiful you woman she is today.”

by

What a fine surgeon you are

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 24, 2018

“The swelling on my forehead is finally diminishing- thank you, Doctor. What a fine surgeon you are. To enhance your craftsmanship, I’ve been applying 100% pure jajoba oil to the incision post op. My battle scar is healing nicely. (Now if only my Indian friend would call your for a tummy tuck….) Stephen Baker, to you, and to Laurie, and Cathalene, and Michael, and to the rest of your lovely staff, may God hold you in the palm of His hand, forever. Bless you for helping me and my family. I shall never forget you.”

by

Thank you for giving my niece her life back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 11, 2018

“Dr. Baker, Thank you for giving my niece her life back. Before she used to come to weddings and parties crying. Now she comes with a smile.”

by

Thank you for everything

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 23, 2018

“Dr. Baker, Thank you for everything. You have helped me so much. You have done so many things for me. I want to do something for you. Thank you.”

by

All the family would like to thank you for giving Z. A. her life back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 30, 2017

“All the family would like to thank you for giving Z. A. her life back.”

by

Now, I will hopefully be sweat free and worry-free on my wedding day!!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 23, 2017

“I just wanted to express my sincere appreciation for my Botox procedure. It was more than generous of you to do that and most wouldn’t. Thank you so much! Now, I will hopefully be sweat free and worry-free on my wedding day!! I will be sure to send you a picture with the wedding. Thanks again!”
P.S. Please also tell your office staff & PA, thanks too!”

by

You are an amazing person, physician, and surgeon

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 11, 2017

“As we celebrate our first year home with Z. R.- I can’t help but think of you and all the help you gave us with her numerous times in the OR. I thought I would send you a few pictures so you can see her now-compared to one year ago. Isn’t she beautiful? She is a very happy and curious girl these days.
Thank you for being a pillar of strength and encouragement to me and our family this past year. It was the most difficult time in my life but the most rewarding one as well You are an amazing person, physician, and surgeon. We are so thankful to have you in our lives.
P.S.- Please tell your PA, Cathalene, we said “Hi”. She’s a gem!”

by

I owed you this bit greatitude

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 20, 2017

“Hi there! It’s C. P. It’s been a week since my jaw surgery and I wanted to write to thank you all. I am not one to ever need any type of medical care, let alone surgery. So my experiences at hospitals the last decade had been simply welcoming relatives and friends baby’s to the world. Thanks to all of your skills (both professional and social) I had quite a wonderful experience getting my jaw broken at Georgetown Univ. Hospital! I was quite nervous from the day before until “Go-Time” but everyone was so calm and personable, I was soon put at ease thanks to you all! You are all total professionals and I owed you this bit greatitude. Have a wonderful 2010!

*And a special thanks to Laurie for hounding my insurance! You Rock!”

by

Very happy to see that Dr. Baker is still practicing.

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 18, 2017

“I went in to get my son’s foot x-rays in prep for removing a sixth toe. To my surprise, the receptionist knew Dr. Baker and asked if I could bring a note to him on our next visit. Since our next appointment is not until September, I thought I had better just mail the note. She reassured us that our son will be in good hands and was very happy to see that Dr. Baker is still practicing.”

by

I now live a normal life

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 2, 2017

“Hi Dr. Baker! A patient came into my work today and when I saw you were his Dr. I couldn’t help myself, I had to write you a quick note. It’s been a few years, but I’m sure you remember my case. You did surgery for me under my arms because I had hidradentitis suppurativa. After searching for many dr’s to take on my case, you accepted and it has changed my life for the better. Both arms have healed completely and I haven’t had any other issues. I feel like because of you, I now live a normal life. Thanks again and take care.”

by

I’m extremely pleased with my results!! I’m on cloud nine!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 30, 2017

“Dear Dr. Baker, no words can truly convey how grateful I am to have met you and for the exceptional work you did on me. I’m extremely pleased with my results!! I’m on cloud nine!
I’m sure many others before me have said this but I have to say that you are such a kind and an extraordinarily gifted plastic surgeon with the best bed side manner and incredible ability to make patients feel at ease. You are amazing and I am in awe of your talents. My mom was right when she said “Dr. French would only refer me to the very best”.
I also wanted to thank your extremely knowledgeable and caring staff. Kudos to Laurie Sladek, Cathalene Blake, and Laura Seiboth for treating me with the utmost respect and kindness. You and your staff exemplify excellence in healthcare, and I unequivocally recommend anyone to seek out your services.
Dr. Baker, I’m forever indebted to you and I’ll never forget you.”

by

As Featured In

Contact Us

I agree to the Terms of Use*